top of page

Praise for The Invention of Fire

"Thrillingly written . . . I was swept along by the quality of the writing and the remarkable wealth of detail. The past rarely comes this splendidly to life."

  - The Washington Post

"Skillful and engrossing...Holsinger is equally adept at depicting the machinations of the rich and powerful and the fears and hopes of the working class, “desperate to hold on to their small scraps of ground in the face of the great events unfolding around them.”

  - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“This excellent period mystery is narrated in a gloriously earthy language that is, long before Shakespeare and the King James Bible, still in the process of taking shape. Fans of the previous book as well as aficionados of the historical genre won’t be able to put this novel down. ”

  — Library Journal (starred review)

“Absorbing . . . Gower’s self-deprecating wit and Holsinger’s skillful conjuring of detailed mental images will appeal to fans of C. J. Sansom and Ariana Franklin.”

  — Booklist

 

 

bottom of page